Pastor Appointment Process

After 15 years of service to Oconee Street UMC, The Rev. Lisa Caine is retiring in June 2016.

Read her announcement to the church.

In the United Methodist Church, pastors are appointed to churches, not selected/hired by the individual church. For more information about the appointment process, watch this video.

As charged in the United Methodist Book of Discipline, the Staff/Pastor-Parish Relations Committee of Oconee Street UMC has communicated the needs and desires for a new pastor to the district superintendent. The Oconee Street UMC SPPRC is chaired by Maxine Easom and includes Sally AsKew, Joe Dennis, Beth Gavrilles,  Gail Hanula, Sharon Pendley, Matt Pruitt and Steve Williams.

Any questions about the appointment process should be directed to members of this committee.